Posted by: liv | January 13, 2013

liv.by.the.sea.sunday

IMAG0645

Happy New Year everyone!  Above is Sunset Cliffs in Ocean Beach.  Shawn and I were able to get our Engagement photos done and I was snapping a quick shot from the car as we were leaving.  I am so excited to have that done since we were rained out last month (plus all the holiday travel).  Can’t wait to show you once we get them!

This post is more of a recap vs a roundup since it’s been a while.  Shawn and I had a pretty good holiday season.  For the first time ever, we managed to see both his and my family.  We celebrated Christmas day with Shawn’s family in LA, and then flew back to Virginia to spend a late Christmas with my family.  Shawn did unfortunately get sick so his first day at my family’s house was spent sleeping and on cold medicine, but he got much better by the following day.  Our late Christmas got some morning snow that melted by that afternoon, but still gave us a “White Christmas” effect.  It was a little sad that we did not have Tilly with us this year, but she was still with us in spirit.

IMAG0504

To follow that up, my sister/matron of honor threw me a bridal shower.  It was low-key, but fun and exciting because I didn’t think I would even have one during this planning process (too many people live EVERYWHERE).  Since we decided to honeymoon in Kauai, my sister threw a luau themed shower.  My favorite part (aside from seeing all my East Coast friends) were these cute treats my sister put together.

IMAG0549 IMAG0552

Besides having a relaxing New Year’s celebration with my parents watching Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve (with Ryan Seacrest), we managed to do a little tourism in DC.  We saw the Library of Congress, the Capitol, the Christmas Trees in DC, and the Newseum.   History overload, but we had a great time.

IMAG0510 IMAG0511 IMAG0522

It was sad to come back and go back to work, I was loving vacation!  Oh well, now we’re back to the grindstone and getting the apartment back in order (although that is not as quick as we thought it would be).  I hope everyone else had a terrific holiday!  Any stories you want to share?

Responses

  1. It sounds like you guys had a wonderful holiday (minus the cold), Liv! So glad! I found it so hard to come back to the UK and back to work post-holidays in Atlanta — so I can totally relate.
    What part of Virginia does your fam live in? Cath and I grew up in Montgomery Country, Maryland, so we’re always curious to hear about other metro-d.c.-ers 😉
    xoxox,
    Lar
    p.s. Can’t wait to see your engagement photos!

    • I grew up in Fairfax County so we were not too far from D.C via car or metro 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

