Posted by: liv | August 1, 2012

Engagement Story

So I’m back and wanted to quickly share with you the whirlwind that was the past few days.  Shawn and I went to Catalina for a few days to relax.  Catalina is an island off the coast of LA and it is about a 1.5 hour boat ride away from any of the available docks that sail there.  We took one from Newport.  While I was the planner for this trip, Shawn seemed to have his own plans during the time we were there.  After a few hours of meals, tours, and getting checked into the hotel, one of my main goals was to rent a golf cart and drive it around the island (Catalina has VERY few cars and majority of the residents ride golf carts or other cars that are relatively the same size).  We rode it around the island that first day and stopped at a couple places to take pictures.  It wasn’t until the last stop that we took a picture (see last post) and then Shawn gave me a huge hug and the conversation went like this:

Shawn: …I have to ask you a question

Me: Yes?

Shawn: Are you having a great weekend?

Me: Yes I am.

Shawn: How great a weekend?

Me: I’m having a really great weekend.

Shawn (pulls a box out of his pocket): Can we make it better?

Me (mouth opens wide as box opens): Awwwwwww!

Shawn (showing me a ring inside that box): Will you marry me?

Me (choking up a bit): yes!

About 2 seconds later, another golf cart with a family of 4 showed up and asked us if we wanted a picture taken.  Lucky us!  They didn’t have any clue what they had just stumbled onto, but at least we were able to get the picture taken while I was fresh off of almost blubbering from happiness.

The rest of the trip was relaxing as can be.  Lots of eating, walking around some beaches, and a nice couple hours at the spa.  This was definitely the most unforgettable trip with one of the best souvenirs.

 

As of today, there is nothing remotely planned.  Shawn and I have lots of chatting to do about it.  I usually let my Pinterest board do the thinking for me, but we’ll see how that goes (apologies in advance for what will likely be a LOT of wedding posts in the next 12ish months)…

Responses

  1. Huge congratulations!!!

    • Thank you so much!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

