Posted by: liv | March 23, 2012

All Dogs Go To Heaven

Today, I received word that Heaven came to claim our family dog, Tilly Ting.  Tilly was 12 {human} years old.  As I sit here and struggle to not freak out while I write this post, I am thinking about how Tilly enriched my family’s life.

Tilly was a puppy when she was adopted and given to my sister as a gift from her college roommates.  Although my parents never let us get a dog prior to that day (only fish/birds/hamsters…not all at once), her cute face charmed her way into the family very quickly.  Whenever I’d visit my sister at school or she’d come home for vacation and brought Tilly home with her, Tilly was just the cutest thing ever.  She was not always interested in obeying commands, but we always had a ton of fun cuddling or playing with her.  When my sister moved Hawaii and couldn’t take Tilly with her, Tilly lived with my brother in North Carolina, and then eventually back to my parent’s house in Virginia.  She enjoyed just chilling most of the time and when we’d go on walks, she’d do her best to lead you instead of you leading her.  Since moving to San Diego, I only got to see her every year or so and I always enjoyed the QT we spent being lazy together.

A couple weeks ago, we learned that Tilly had Cancer (along with a few other issues), which caused her to experience vomiting and difficulty breathing.  I skyped with my parents a few times in the last couple weeks and got to see her that way.  I am pretty sad that I was not close enough to go and say goodbye, but I know that she is in a better place without any pain.  RIP Tilly, we will love and miss you always.

Responses

  1. […] sister ordered a stone memorial to remember Tilly and it arrived at my parent’s house this week.  They placed it outside the window she used […]

  2. […] sister ordered a stone memorial to remember Tilly and it arrived at my parent’s house this week.  They placed it outside the window she used […]

  3. […] still gave us a “White Christmas” effect.  It was a little sad that we did not have Tilly with us this year, but she was still with us in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

