Posted by: liv | December 31, 2010

Cheers To 2010 – Intentions for 2011

Well 2010, you have been utterly wonderful.  I can’t even believe how much has happened since you showed up, and now you’re already leaving.

  1. I ran my FIRST half-marathon with Jenny
  2. I competed in my first triathlon
  3. I got a niece
  4. I celebrated my nephew’s 2nd birthday
  5. I saw my big brother get married
  6. I had 4 very good friends get married too (although I only made 2 of those weddings)
  7. Several friends had kids or their kids turned 1 or 2!
  8. Several friends announced their pregnancies or engagements
  9. I got a new car
  10. I started adding new goals to my life

Yes, it feels like both a little and a lot at the same time.  I have not yet finished my New Year’s Resolutions yet (though some are tying into my 30 before 30 list as well), but I wanted to share some New Year’s Intentions that I have for this year (JessLC, I’m looking at you!):

  1. I intend to be more solution-oriented: I don’t know if anyone watched this past season of The Apprentice, but there was this one episode where this girl was getting chewed out and destroyed by everyone, and the girl who ended up winning, Brandy, was shown telling Donald Trump “I always tell people ‘don’t come to me with your problems unless you have a solution'” (something like that, I can’t remember how the whole line was said), and it just sat with me.  So I am going to try and make sure that unless I’ve exhausted every possible solution, I will not just complain about my problems to people.
  2. I intend to be more proactive: sometimes I get really lazy (who doesn’t?) and just let life pass me by, or I let stupid things just happen to me instead of being proactive and stopping them before they happen.  I hope to be more proactive about my own life and take charge, in whatever area I need to handle.
  3. I intend to be more giving: I think this is in my 30 before 30, but I want to make sure my schedule allots for more volunteering and making sure I can be involved better in matters that are important to me.
  4. I intend to not spread myself too thin: the problem with me wanting to do everything is that I want to do EVERYTHING.  Sometimes I think that it’s fine because I’m experiencing every experience I can get my hands on, but at the same time, I think that it’s really spreading myself to thin and I should not do that and focus on what I enjoy more.
  5. I intent to be forward-focused: I will do my best to stop dwelling on anything in the past (especially anything that makes me really mad/sad), and always focus on moving forward.
  6. I intend to not be wasteful: seems self-explanatory.
  7. Lastly (at least for now), I intend to always be happy and thankful: life may throw me lemons, but I’m a good catcher. 🙂

Happy New Year everyone!  I’ll see you next year! 😛

 

liv

Leave a Reply

Categories

