Posted by: liv | September 13, 2010

2 Weekends of Awesome

So as I was saying, Over Labor Day weekend, I went up to Seattle to visit my sister and her family, which includes my adorable nephew.  I love him, he’s so cute.  We pretty much hung out for the weekend and I watched him be cute and sound very intelligent for a 2 year old.

I also was able to go to PAX in downtown Seattle at the Convention Center.  PAX stands for Penny Arcade Expo.  Gamer fans can come in and check out all the new games that are coming out.  I had an excellent time.  There was lots of energy and people in fun costumes and LOTS OF GAMES.  I got to see my friends Kat and Allain.  I was really happy because had the opportunity not presented itself to go to PAX, I might not have seen them because my main goal that weekend was to spend time with my nephew.

So Monday presented itself and I had to leave.  😦  It was so much fun to see everyone.  I can’t wait to see them again!

This past weekend was Jenny’s birthday and the TriRock Triathlon in San Diego.  Lucky for me, I was downtown long enough to celebrate Jenny’s birthday AND see the TriRock, which a handful of people I knew were participating in.  We got a room at the Hilton Bayfront. It is a GREAT hotel (almost better than the Omni!) The pool was beautiful and big, the view was pretty good, the room was really nice, the bed was really comfortable.  Shawn will love it even more when they finish building this overpass so we can have easier access between the hotel and Petco Park.

For Jenny’s birthday, we ate dinner at the Old Spaghetti Factory then partied at 207 in the Hard Rock Hotel.  It was a lot of fun.  It’s not a huge club, but we always manage to have a good time there.  The Old Spaghetti Factory was fun, but the restaurant is disappointing us big time.  They have a “call ahead one hour” thing so you can get your name on the list an hour early in case there is a wait and they’ll assess how long your wait is when you arrive.  Well if you have a big party, they won’t assess your wait until majority of your party gets there.  LAME.  How about you seat us right when majority of our party arrives?  Sheesh.  We could’ve made up for the wait in drinks.  You never know!

–Insert Eventual Picture I Will Get Jenny To Send Me — (Yeah I’m aware that I typed this, I need Jenny to send me the pics because mine aren’t good for the blog…Facebook on the other hand…)

3-4 hours after I fell asleep, I woke up and stumbled outside for the TriRock.  The San Diego TriRock was the inaugural one and it’s a sprint triathlon, so the distances are short.  500meter swim, 20kilometer bike (roughly 11-12 miles), and a 5kilometer run (5k = 3.1 miles).  Some of the people I trained with participated in it as well as my brother.  They all did really well!  I hope to do just as well when my triathlon arrives in a few weeks.

Congrats to you all!

Onto the rest of the day (after my nap), I was able to go to a friend’s house for a True Blood finale party!  We ate steak and drank Tru Blood.  No really!

{image from popawesome.com}

The finale was decent.  Probably not my favorite finale, though it did have a few good parts that we didn’t see coming for a second.  I am dying for the next season to start though.

Overall, it was a great weekend.  The Chargers game is currently killing me, but I’ll be asleep soon, so I’ll feel better.

Responses

  1. trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

    • I just signed up right now! I am @thelivblog.

  2. thanks for the information.. i will be visiting your blog

  3. im gna add you on twitter right now, thanks for the share 🙂 looks brilliant


Leave a Reply

Categories

