Posted by: liv | August 6, 2010

Summer Vacation 2010

I am finally getting around to posting about my summer vacation.  This year, it was just another trip back to Virginia to visit some family and see one of my good friends, Shaina and Jim, get married!!!

Good morning Virginia!

Shawn and I arrived early in the morning (having taken a red-eye from SD).  We hung out with my family for the day, then we had a busy week ahead of us.  It involved the following:

1-Going to King’s Dominion in Doswell (near Richmond/Fredericksburg)

2-Visiting Shawn’s brother and sister-in-law (in Fredericksburg)

3-Going to Shaina and Jim’s wedding (in Harrisonburg)

So the next day, off we went.  First stop, King’s Dominion.  I have gone here almost every summer since I was a kid.  My last trip there was the day after I graduated from JMU with my friends!  A lot has changed since I was there last.  A few of my favorite old-school coasters were torn down, but they replaced it with some crazy stuff!  Namely, the Intimidator 305.  It is described as this:

“Intimidator™305, the tallest and fastest roller coaster of its type on the East Coast! Only the second Giga-coaster ever built in North America, the lift hill will stand a towering 305 feet at its highest peak; descend 300 feet at an 85 degree-angle and thunder along the track at speeds in excess of 90 miles per hour during its three minute race to the finish. This ride will have you roaring to the finish line and begging for more!

Intimidator 305 is an aggressive thrill ride which features intense elements and high speeds. Riders will experience extended periods of high G forces and negative G forces (airtime). This ride should only be ridden by those guests who are in good physical and mental condition appropriate for an aggressive thrill ride.”

I mean, holy crap…the G-force caught me and I lost my vision for about 4 seconds, that was freaky, but the ride was amazing!  We had a really long day, but it was super fun.  It was also blistering hot.  I haven’t sweated that much in a long time.  We were looking at about 104 degree weather (humidity included).  It was really fun though.  Shawn enjoyed it as well.  He is die-hard about Six Flags Magic Mountain, which has awesome rides such as Tatsu, and the Goliath, and others, but he thought KD has some fight in it for some awesome roller coasters.

It took us about 20ish minutes to get to Fredericksburg from KD.  We spent that night and the next day with Shawn’s brother and sister-in-law.  It was my first time meeting his brother (I’ve met his sister-in-law before).  We all had a great day mostly chilling and talking, then we had an crazy amazing cookout.  We had shrimp, alaskan crab, and prime rib.  I don’t have any pictures (cue sad face), but I’ll just say it was a lot of fun!  I hope I can make it back another time to visit.

Now onto the main dish of our visit, Shaina and Jim’s wedding!!!  Shaina and I met at JMU during water polo.  We became great friends and one-year of that, we were roommates!

{image from jmu.edu}

Shaina also met Jim there.  It is no wonder they chose to get married at JMU!  So I was able to take Shawn back to my old stomping grounds in cow-town…er….Harrisonburg. 🙂  It took about 2 hours to get there from Fredericksburg (we left the morning of).  We barely made it to the ceremony by the skin of our teeth.  We enjoyed the wedding very much, it was GORGEOUS and Shaina looked GORGEOUS, and Jim looked handsome (very clean-cut…very un-Jim-like).  Harrisonburg has grown so much since I was there last.  There are a lot of new housing developments (read more off-campus housing for students), as well as more businesses.  Everything appears newer.  I don’t know why Newman Lake can’t be cleaner, but oh well.

Shawn and I at the wedding

I also was able to see my best friend Kim, who I haven’t seen in a while either.  She is pregnant and I couldn’t be more excited to be a future aunt!  (Non-biological, but that’s cool!)

The next day, we came back to Northern VA and spent time with my parents again.  We also celebrated my mom’s birthday, though because of some miscommunication, she ended up with 2 cakes.

They were both really yummy.  I also can’t forget about mentioning TILLY!  I miss herrr!!!!

I also managed to get my fill of Maryland Blue Crab by going to Captain Pell’s with my friend Jessie.  (It was so good to see everyone, OMG I MISS YOU GUYS!)  And that was that.  Shawn and I are back in SD and have been just going back about life.  It was a seriously busy week, but jam-packed full of fun.  When is my next vacation?…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

