Posted by: liv | July 7, 2010

30 Days

Some of you might remember when Supersize Me came out in 2004.

A man decided to show you what happens when you eat McDonalds for 3 meals a day for 30 days.  He ended up suffering some health issues (all fixable) and scaring many people into not eating McDonalds/fast food (while others are continually realizing that anything in moderation is common sense).

This show illustrates a lot of good points, all wrapped around one central point…”you have no idea what life is like for someone unless you live in their shoes.”

Since then, 3 seasons of his show (with the same theme but different situations) called 30 Days has come out on FX and DVD.  There are no new seasons according to wikipedia.  Some situations include:

  • Spending 30 days in jail
  • Spending 30 days in poverty
  • An anti-illegal immigration citizen spending 30 days with an illegal immigrant family
  • A pro-choice citizen spending 30 days in a pro-life community
  • Spending 30 days in an eco-community
  • and more….

While I liked season 1, season 2 I kind of skipped around, and now I’m on season 3.  I am currently watching an episode where former pro-NFL player Ray Crockett will spend 30 days in a wheelchair.  It is just incredibly crazy to watch.  I could just never imagine what life is like in various situations.  I do have one friend in a wheelchair so I kind of have an idea, but to spend 30 days myself in a wheelchair, my idea of what my friend goes through would be dramatically changed.

Some of these are really intriguing.  You should check them out.  You can watch them on Netflix Instant (where I’m watching them now) or rent them from wherever you choose to rent movies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

