Posted by: liv | July 3, 2010

Happy July 3rd

It’s a gorgeous day in San Diego, but so far, I have spent the morning being sort of productive instead of going out and enjoying the day.  This morning, after a 2 mile walk with Jenny, she took me to this salon called Beauty by Dolly in Miramar.  I was trying out that “eyebrow threading” thing.  I’m usually pro-waxing.  It’s not that expensive and they take out your hair really fast, but these ladies, when they thread, they specialize in it and they know how to shape your brows, so of course I will try anything at least once.  This place came highly recommended by Jenny, and a few other friends of mine.  I actually really liked it!  My brows are looking good.  (I didn’t bother taking a pic because I am not good for pics today but the brows look good).  Depending on your pain tolerance, some people might complain that it hurts, but I have a decent tolerance so I didn’t find it painful at all.  Here is a news coverage video of it that I found on youtube.

If you are in San Diego, Beauty by Dolly is highly recommended on Yelp.  I will definitely come back here for my brows.  It kind of sucks that I have to get other waxing done at my other favorite place, but that’s ok.  You do what you gotta do for beauty I guess 😛  (Sorry if this is TMI for some people).

Later I met up with Shawn and we had a “cheap date” at Costco for lunch.  Nice.  Costco sucks on the weekends, but we did it anyways, at least we weren’t shopping today.  On our way home, we saw a local fruit/veggie market.  I love farmer’s markets, but this was sort of farmer’s market/fruit stand.  It was awesome.  I suck and knowing prices between normal grocery stores and fruit stands, but Shawn says it’s cheaper at the stands and a lot of the signs said the food was pesticide-free, so that is always a plus too.  They had lots of stuff.  Check it out!

On Morena, near Costco

We’re probably going to cook some of the veggies tonight and eat some of the strawberries we acquired for dessert.  We will keep you posted on how it tasted, but if it tastes as good as it looks, we’ll be coming here for most of our fruit/veggie needs.  Most of the food is locally grown and we are now becoming bigger supporters of most mom-and-pop organizations.

It’s only 2pm.  I’m not sure what we’ll do for the rest of the day, but I hope you’re having a great weekend!

{Image via celebrate-it.com}

Responses

  1. A friend of mine goes to Grace Threading in Mira Mesa/Scripps Ranch (near the Trader Joe’s just off Mira Mesa Blvd and the 15); she really likes it! Her eyebrows look nice, too. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

