Posted by: liv | February 14, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Well yesterday’s (early) Valentine’s Day date went wonderfully.  We took our groupon for the Hornblower whale watching tour and managed to get there about 15 minutes before the boat was scheduled to leave.  There was a lonnngggg line, but in the end, we all (me and the massive line that was in front of and behind me) made it onto the ship and set sail.

Gorgeous Saturday in downtown San Diego

Our Hornblower ship for whale watching

I’ve been on little boats on calm waters before.  I handle it rather nicely.  Well for whale watching, I forgot that when you get out into the Pacific Ocean, that it can be a bit more rough than if you were on a nice cruise ship and/or in calmer waters.  I started to feel a little light-headed, but I was still able to see some whales!  This picture isn’t that great but then again, not that much of the whale poked out of the water…

Whale!

We were told that we came at the tail-end of their migration.  So if we had shown up a couple weeks earlier or a couple weeks later, we could’ve seen more.  We haven’t decided yet if we want to do it because we don’t want to pay more and I will just nap during the parts where I feel gross.

So after the trip, we walked a few blocks and made it to Extraordinary Desserts!

Extraordinary Desserts in Little Italy

Hubba hubba…it’s everything people told me and more!  We sat at the bar and enjoyed a nice turkey sandwich (Shawn’s gluten free of course) and a salad and these little bits of heaven…

Extraordinary Dessert's desserts!

I was so full of wonderful, delicious food that walking back to the car was a struggle, but that’s ok.  Shawn also got me a cupcake to try so that I can evaluate their cupcakes in my quest for the best cupcake in San Diego.

Upon arriving home, we watched about 6+ hours of DVR’d Winter Olympics.  We saw Apolo Anton Ohno win the silver in the shorttrack and delightfully passed out around 1am.  It was one of the best days ever. 🙂

P.S. Shawn is seeing the movie he doesn’t want to see tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

Categories

