Posted by: liv | August 6, 2009

What I Learned About Timing Belts

A couple months ago, I took my car into the dealership for an oil change and then he scared the crap out of me by telling me that my timing belt was due to be changed soon (or it was within the recommended mile range to be changed).  Since the car is actually not mine, but borrowed from my relatives for my temporary stay in Washington, I told them about it later.  I can’t stand how car dealerships put that worry into your head and you drive around thinking that one day, your vehicle will die because of the very thing they told you and you didn’t want to do anything about it.  It doesn’t help that the car was making squealing noises too.

So after telling them, I called a few garages to price check and got all the same type of estimates.  For a Honda Civic, it’ll cost at LEAST $500.  That is just the minimum, it can only go up from there depending on where you take it.  Apparently, the timing belt is way in there and it takes a lot of labor to take apart the engine and stuff to get to it.  While they’re in there, they usually change your water pump at the same time because it makes no sense to pay the labor charge again to change the water pump at a later date.

Anyways, just FYI on the timing belt thing.  In case yours needs to get changed, that is what you’re looking to pay.  The moral of my story is…it pays to know people.  I got mine changed by a friend of a friend who cut me a price break.  Yay!  Saved my family some money for that car repair.

Leave a Reply

Categories

